NO H8 IS GR8

BACK SO SOON I KNOW I AM SO HAPPY!

As I said in my last post, I had the incredible opportunity of taking photos for Shepard’s NO H8 campaign. I was honored to help such an important club on campus for a great cause. As we currently live in a world of hostility and high tensions, I felt that it was important to do this. I have some very important people in my life who would declare themselves LGBTQ+ and I would bring those people a disservice if I did not participate.

If you do not know Shepard is a club that is named after Matthew Shepard. Matthew Shepard was a man who was in college at the University of Wyoming during the late 90s. When he was just 21 years old, he was beaten and murdered near Laramie, Wyoming due to the fact that he was gay. Since then, his mother, Judy Shepard, has been a major advocate for LGBTQ+ rights and today many college campuses across the country have Shepard chapters to ensure safety and awareness to students.

This club, I feel, is very important to have. Even though the world is much better with LGBTQ+ than it was back then, there is still much hate. It boggles my mind that people can hate on someone just because they are gay, but hey we are all entitled to our opinions. I admire Providence College for having this club. We are a Catholic college, and yet we are still so accepting to all regardless of sexual orientation. It’s something I feel you would not see in many Catholic colleges.

Despite how serious I am writing right now, I actually had a lot of fun taking pictures. I met a lot of awesome people. Everyone was so friendly and there was so much love in the room. It was truly refreshing. It made me feel so warm and happy. I just wanted to thank the PC chapter of Shepard for letting me hang out and take some cool pictures.

Side note: This was like my first photography kind of and I had the best time and I am really proud of my work, so I hope you like it!

dsc_0100dsc_0104dsc_0090dsc_0109dsc_0130dsc_0118Version 2dsc_0123Version 2dsc_0164Version 2dsc_0233

Leave a Reply

